Dragon’s Eye

When I was a little girl, my mom would sometimes make me a “Dragon’s Eye” for breakfast. I’ve also heard it called, “Egg in a Hole” and “Egg in a Basket”. Whatever you call it, it’s a fun way to eat an egg and a piece of toast and very easy to make!

Dragon’s Eye

ingredients:

slice of bread
egg
oil or butter

directions:

Heat oil or butter in the pan. Cut a hole in the center of the bread (I used a champagne flute).

20121115-225253.jpg

Lightly fry the bread and the circle.
Flip over and crack the egg in the hole. Cook until done.

20121115-225319.jpg
I like my yolk slightly runny and the toasted circle is perfect for dipping!

Did you ever have this for breakfast? What did you call it?

3 thoughts on “Dragon’s Eye

  1. That looks so good!
    I’ve always called them eggs in a basket but my yolk always breaks and I end up making french toast instead >.<
    Kudos on your Dragon's eye perfection!

Leave a Reply

